Cocktails 101: Martinis

Cucumber & Mint Martini

I ordered this in a bar in York the other week and loved it so much I thought I’d try it at home! It’s a fresh vibrant cocktail, perfect with food or a sunny afternoon.

You will need:

  • Cocktail shaker
  • Gin
  • Elderflower cordial
  • Cucumber
  • Fresh mint leaves
  • Shot measure
  • Cocktail glasses
  • Ice

My recipe is designed for two people.

1. Chop up some cucumber into small chunks. Score three or four mint leaves and chuck both in the shaker. You can mash these up, I tried both and found that the end product of the mashed tasted less alcoholic so it’s up to your preference.

 

2. Pour two measures of gin into the shaker. I used one of the cheapest gins I could find which was around £8 for 35cl, but if money was no object I would definitely go for Bombay Sapphire or Sipsmith.

*p.s. Check out the awesome Kraków shot glass from my travels last summer*

3. Half fill the shaker with elderflower cordial and then fill it with ice. Shake it up (with the lid on obviously) until the shaker feels completely cold.

 

4. Finally, pour into two cocktail glasses and top up with cordial. To serve add a slice of cucumber onto the side of the glass and a mint leaf if you’re feeling jazzy.

 

Enjoy and think of warmer climes.

-M

Leave a Reply

