Spirit of Jazz

Coleton fishacre Sea View

Coleton Fishacre Roses

Coleton fishacre 4

Coleton Fishacre House

Coleton Fishacre Flower

Coleton Fishacre Waterways

I like jazz. No, I’m not an old person, I like regular pop music too. But there’s something about jazz – it’s unconventional, improvised and inspirational. I like to listen to it sometimes when I’m revising, particularly Strange Fruit by Billie Holiday.

A couple of days ago I visited the beautiful National Trust property of Coleton Fishacre, a house that belonged to the family responsible for the Gilbert and Sullivan Savoy operas. The place was decorated as it was in the 1920s, making it especially interesting in contrast to other National Trust houses. It felt like I’d walked onto the set of an early Poirot murder mystery, especially as his creator Agatha Christie once holidayed just down the road at a house called Greenway. The Trust holds jazz performances throughout the Summer, and it was such a shame I wasn’t able to visit for one of them.

It was beautiful weather when I visited, so I had the chance to dust off the old camera and experiment with some different shots. I will say one thing for Devon, there are plenty of opportunities to do so!

-M

 

Leave a Reply

